Nominations open up for Sportswomen of the 12 months Awards 2021


The 2021 Sunday Situations Sportswomen of the 12 months Awards kicks off the nationwide call for public nominations this Sunday (12th September).

The prestigious awards, now in their 34th yr, have led the way in recognizing and celebrating the fantastic contribution built to activity by women at all degrees, from elite to grassroots.

For the future two months, the British public is invited to post nominations for the seven types at isles Nominations are open up until eventually 11:59pm 27th September.

1. The Sunday Instances Sportswoman of the Calendar year 2021
The supreme accolade for your favored sportswoman of this yr

2. Youthful Sportswoman of the Yr
Nominees must have been 21 decades aged or younger on January 1, 2021

3. Disability Sportswoman of the Year
The outstanding performer in a disability activity

4. Team of the Year
Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s successful collective initiatives

5. Changemaker Award
Celebrating all those who have impressed some others and utilised their platforms to produce change

5. Grassroots Award
For individuals who have actively engaged with distinctive teams of people in their community through sport

6. The Helen Rollason Award for inspiration
Recognising inspirational endeavour in honor of the late athletics presenter Helen Rollason

Rebecca Myers, Sunday Periods sports journalist claimed

“After a challenging calendar year, women’s sport has bounced back with a vengeance in 2021, amazing performances at Wimbledon, the Olympics, Paralympics, the Women’s Tremendous League, and a lot more. There is extra for these awards to rejoice than ever.

The SWOTY awards figure out the immense toughness and iron dedication of successful women in sport from people at the top rated of their expert occupations, to those encouraging other individuals to try out anything new at the weekend. We are also delighted to introduce the ‘Changemaker Award’ which will honor individuals that use their impact and system to encourage and motivate other people.”

The on line nomination method closes at 11:59pm on Monday September 27.

A panel of professionals will then decide on the respective shortlists. This year’s judging panel consists of house names Gabby Logan (BBC athletics presenter), Chemmy Alcott (previous World Cup alpine ski racer), Ama Agbeze (former England netball captain and Commonwealth Games gold medalist), Rebecca Adlington OBE (World and Olympic champion swimmer) , Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE (previous England and GB hockey captain and Olympic gold medalist), Natalie Sawyer (co-host of talkSPORT Weekend Sports Breakfast demonstrate), Chrissie Wellington OBE (four-time Ironman triathlon world champion), Tanni Gray-Thompson OBE (Paralympics and entire world winner wheelchair racer), Ellie Simmonds OBE (paralympic and globe champion swimmer), Laura Woods (talkSPORT and Sky athletics presenter), Helen Glover MBE (Olympic and earth winner rower)

The shortlist will be declared and voting will open on Sunday 17th October, with the general public able to vote for their winners right up until Wednesday 17th November.

The winners will be uncovered at a are living-streamed awards ceremony on Thursday 25th November.

Former winners of the most important award, the coveted Sportswoman of the 12 months accolade, involve Dina Asher-Smith, Elise Christie, Sally Gunnell, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Denise Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes, Zara Phillips, Victoria Pendleton and Christine Ohuruogu. Hollie Doyle, the British jockey who competes in flat racing was crowned the 2021 Sportswoman of the Yr past November

The Sportswomen of the 12 months Awards are between the most prestigious and influential in the British sporting calendar and are supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, Uk Activity, Sport England and Gals in Sport.

Adhere to the newest news and get included by subsequent #SWOTY in the lead up to the Awards

- Advertisement -

Comments are closed.